Antingen stödjer din webbläsare inte javascript, eller är javascript inaktiverat. Denna webbplats fungerar bäst om du aktiverar javascript.

WAAM printing skates på Högskolan Väst.

Welding and welding-based AM is one of the largest research groups within KAM-PT, comprising about 30 people (including senior researchers, PhD students and engineers). The group’s research is grouped into three main areas:  

Metallurgy

Metallurgy research focuses on fundamental research of welding and welding-based AM technologies to improve the understanding of microstructure, defects, and their effect on mechanical performance. Research is carried out on a wide range of materials from nickel-based superalloys, stainless steels including duplex stainless steels, to aluminium and titanium alloys.  

Physical Process Simulation

The area of Physical Process Simulation develops models to describe heat sources such as electric arc or laser, as well as the melt pool that can be used to predict the formation of porosity, defects, temperature, and stress gradients etc.  

Process Control

The area of process control focuses on improving process parametrization and automation (sensing, monitoring, and control).

The overlap of the research areas enables a close collaboration and exchange of experience within the group which in turn allows a multi-disciplinary research approach that makes the Welding & Welding based AM group unique in the Nordic countries.

Research activities are in line with industrial demands to improve system efficiency through producing components of “hard-to-weld” materials as well as tailoring components based on industrial demands using additive manufacturing methods.

Needs of increased production rate and fundamental understanding of arc and laser welding are met by the research performed in the Process control as well as by Process simulation areas of research.

The welding research group is the largest group in the Nordic countries and aims to become both nationally and internationally recognized. The group is actively involved in both national and international organizations and societies such as the International Institute of Welding (IIW) and the Swedish Production Academy (SPA) and has established active research collaborations with international partners from both academia and industry. 

Researchers


Joel Andersson

Joel Andersson Professor Professor of Material Science and Director Production Technology
joel.andersson@hv.se

Pradip Aryal

Pradip Aryal Postdoctor
pradip.aryal@hv.se

Isabelle Choquet

Isabelle Choquet Avdelningschef
isabelle.choquet@hv.se

Ebrahim Harati

Ebrahim Harati Senior lecturer
ebrahim.harati@hv.se

Paul Kah

Paul Kah Professor
paul.kah@hv.se

Peigang Li

Peigang Li Senior lecturer
peigang.li@hv.se

Morgan Nilsen

Morgan Nilsen Senior lecturer Doktor i produktionsteknik
morgan.nilsen@hv.se

Vivek Patel

Vivek Patel Senior lecturer Docent, Associate Professor
vivek.patel@hv.se

Fredrik Sikström

Fredrik Sikström Senior lecturer Docent (Associate Professor)
fredrik.sikstrom@hv.se

Maria Asuncion Valiente Bermejo

Maria Asuncion Valiente Bermejo Senior lecturer Docent, Associate Professor
asun.valiente@hv.se

Jörg Volpp

Jörg Volpp Senior lecturer Associate Professor
jorg.volpp@hv.se

PhD students


Achmad Ariaseta

Achmad Ariaseta Doctoral student
achmad.ariaseta@hv.se

Gökce Aydin

Gökce Aydin Doctoral student
gokce.aydin@hv.se

Agnieszka Kisielewicz

Agnieszka Kisielewicz Doctoral student
agnieszka.kisielewicz@hv.se

Yongcui Mi

Yongcui Mi Doctoral student
yongcui.mi@hv.se

Dilipkumar Choudary Ratnala

Dilipkumar Choudary Ratnala Doctoral student
dilipkumar-choudary.ratnala@hv.se

Atieh Sahraeidolatkhaneh

Atieh Sahraeidolatkhaneh Doctoral student
atieh.sahraeidolatkhaneh@hv.se

Research engineers


Niclas Berglund

Niclas Berglund Research engineer
niclas.berglund@hv.se

Kjell Hurtig

Kjell Hurtig Research engineer
kjell.hurtig@hv.se

Mattias Igestrand

Mattias Igestrand Research engineer 0701039817
mattias.igestrand@hv.se

Björn Särnerblom

Björn Särnerblom Research engineer
bjorn.sarnerblom@hv.se
Updated