Antingen stödjer din webbläsare inte javascript, eller är javascript inaktiverat. Denna webbplats fungerar bäst om du aktiverar javascript.

Dear WACE Colleagues,

On behalf of the 15-member WACE Executive Committee and the Board of Directors, Dr. Sampan and I are delighted to announce the appointment of
Dr. Nancy Johnston as the new WACE President, effective September 1, 2018.
Dr. Johnston succeeds Dr. Paul Stonely who has served WACE in exemplary fashion as CEO since 2005 and who will remain on the WACE staff in a part-time advisory role.

Dr. Johnston currently serves as the Vice Provost, Students and International Pro Tem at Simon Fraser University in Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada where she is responsible for service and program divisions including Registrar and Enrollment Services, Student Affairs (including WIL and International Services for Students), Student Recruitment and Success, and Athletics and Recreation. Nancy was the former Director of Co-Operative Education and a leader in pioneering the implementation of Strategic Enrollment Management at SFU. She holds an Associate Professorship in the Faculty of Education where she teaches in the areas of experiential and work-integrated learning.

Nancy is a member of the WACE Board of Directors, a faculty member of the WACE Institute on High Impact Experiential Education and a founding and active member of the three Research Committees (WACE, CEWIL and ACE BC).
She recently completed a three-year term as a Board member of the Canadian Bureau for International Education and regularly works in both the international and experiential arenas.

Dr. Johnston is published in co-op and international education related journals and has written several book chapters on experiential learning curriculum design, implementation and assessment. Recent research includes a study examining experiential education in the BC post-secondary system and a research project investigating sub-Saharan African student success after graduation.

Upon learning of her appointment Nancy stated "I am thrilled to have the opportunity to take a leadership role with WACE at this important juncture and look forward to exploring how the Association can continue to grow and develop globally."

Finally, we wish to thank the Nomination Committee members, Dr. Jim Stellar, Chair; Ms. Keiko Saito-Miyakawa, Dr. Norah McRae and Professor Nick Klomp for their excellent work with this global search which generated a highly diverse and outstanding slate of candidates from six countries.


Dr. Maurits van Rooijen                           Dr. Sampan Silapand                                              WACE Board of Directors Co-Chair     WACE Board of Directors Co-Chair